Skip to content

Designer Spotlight: Amy Michelson

April 24, 2010

I thought it would be fitting to have my first designer spotlight be dedicated to one of my all-time favourites (and designer of my wedding gown), Amy Michelson.

Amy is known in the bridal world as the queen of “destination” gowns.  Her hallmarks are sexy detailed backs, soft sensual fabrics, and figure-flattering bias cuts.  Now I did not have a destination wedding, but I had always admired the ease of movement often found in destination gowns, and the soft and often floaty fabrics.  Who says that destination dresses need to be worn outdoors?

I chose the “Grace” gown for my wedding.  It instantly caught my eye – the asymmetrical layers of soft organza seemed to float on air, and of course there was that amazing back!  Once I saw it, I knew it was “the one”:

Now on top of Amy designing the some of the most gorgeous wedding gowns I have ever seen, she is an absolute sweetheart.  I had the honour of meeting Amy at my gown boutique (White Toronto) when she was there for a trunk show.  Amy was a pleasure and seemed to truly love seeing me in one of her gowns.  She even drew me a personal sketch, which I will treasure forever:

Here are some of my other favourite Amy Michelson designs:

“Bling” Gown:

“Love Me Tender” Gown:

“Bouquet” Gown:

Check out Amy’s website to find out where you can try on her gowns.

*photo credits: Micaela Bensko and Bob Young for Amy Michelson

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

